Dyslexia Style: use a special font

PREVIEW

Last November, I became increasingly interested in the topic of dyslexia. Dyslexia is a common learning disability. As per, the National Center for Learning Disabilities, Children and adults with dyslexia simply have a neurological disorder that causes their brains to process and interpret information differently.

FULL BLOG

I have been conducting some personal research into the topic of dyslexia. I am told that there is more dyslexia than ADHD in the population.

As a part-time night school, I teach a wide range of adult learners. Unless I develop a relationship with particular students over a semester, I can never know how many people in my class might have a specific learning disability (SLD) such as dyslexia.

But there are so many ways I improve my course materials and how I present written information. As just one example, type font and page layout play a big role in helping dyslexics to “see” what is on a page.

After doing a little research into typefonts, I am excited to have just received my order of a brand new presentation font for my computer called the “Dyslexie font”.

“Dyslexie” is a “text treatment plan” designed for people with dyslexia to read with less effort. The letters are designed to be quickly identified individually. I actually purchased my copy but I have since learned that it can be downloaded for free. http://www.dyslexiefont.com/en/order/home-use/step/3/download/54163c03ca34e/

Lexical thinker

Leave a Reply

